Leo Goldberg Fellowship

The Leo Goldberg fellowship is a five-year post-doctoral fellowship that is aimed at supporting young astronomers of outstanding promise who have interests in observational astronomy, astronomical instrumentation, or theoretical astrophysics. These fellowships are intended to advance innovative and groundbreaking scientific research and to encourage long-term projects.

In addition to pursuing their independent research programs, past Goldberg Fellows have had the opportunity to engage in NOAO-related activities such as planning for the Large Synoptic Survey Telescope (LSST) and the commissioning of wide-field IR imager NEWFIRM. Opportunities for future Goldberg Fellows include LSST development, the Dark Energy Camera and Dark Energy Survey at CTIO and the Kitt Peak Ohio State Multi-Object Spectrograph (KOSMOS).

Goldberg Fellowships have been previously awarded to Lucas Macri (Texas A&M University), Armin Rest (Harvard University and Space Telescope Science Institute), Gregory Rudnick (University of Kansas), Jennifer Lotz (Space Telescope Science Institute), and Simon Schuler (NOAO).

Applications are due 8 November 2010. Details on the application process and evaluation criteria are described in the Goldberg Fellowship ad and in the September issue of the NOAO Newsletter. For further information on the fellowship and application process, please contact Joan Najita (najita@noao.edu), who heads the NOAO Office of Science.

Current and Past Goldberg Fellows

::  ::   ::

Leo Goldberg’s Rich Contributions to the National Observatory

Leo Goldberg

The Goldberg fellowship program, begun in 2002, is named in memory and honor of Leo Goldberg.

As an astronomer, Leo Goldberg made distinguished contributions to our understanding of gaseous nebulae, and to solar and stellar physics. The importance and quality of his work was recognized by his election to the U.S. National Academy of Sciences in 1958.

His contributions to the US and international communities were equally distinguished. During Leo’s 14-year term as chairman, the astronomy department at the University of Michigan achieved world-wide recognition. From 1960-71, he chaired the Astronomy Department at Harvard and was responsible for recruiting a cohort of outstanding young astronomers and nurturing a number of new research programs. From 1967-70, he served as Chair of NASA’s Astronomy Missions Board, and helped develop a strategic vision that led to a suite of ground-breaking missions that revolutionized solar physics and astrophysics during the ensuing decades.

From 1971-1977, Leo was Director of Kitt Peak National Observatory, where he oversaw the commissioning and initial instrumentation of the Mayall and Blanco 4-meter telescopes. He also served as President of the International Astronomical Union during this time. As he did at Harvard and Michigan, Leo recruited a large number of young astronomers and imbued them with a vision of a national observatory that develops and provides world-class facilities open to all astronomers based on the merit of proposed research. The astronomers and post-doctoral fellows drawn to KPNO and CTIO by Leo’s vision included an incredibly large number of future observatory directors and department chairs, whose commitment to superb scholarship and community service owes no small debt to Goldberg.

Throughout his life, Leo was committed to identifying outstanding young scientists, offering them support and opportunities to succeed, holding them to high standards, and encouraging in them the belief that support of broad community interests is both a noble goal and a necessity for progress.

For more information:

National Academy of Sciences Biographical Memory by Lawrence H. Aller (Volume 72, 1997)

Last updated or reviewed April 26, 2012.